Retailer Search

Cool Connection

There’s a good reason Prometheus is on the menu at Marie Rausch’s bar-restaurant, for she created the exquisite gin cocktail herself. The award-winning mixologist, named Falstaff’s barmaid of the year 2019, runs Rotkehlchen in Münster with her husband Nicklas.

What do you like about the Prometheus tumblers?

Everything. Firstly, the size: simply perfect for highballs. Then there’s the finely crafted relief of a face, which gives them a changeable, protean character. You can also immediately feel the quality, thanks to the weight and matt texture. That’s what makes porcelain in general so attractive. It’s elegant and has this unique consistency. It brings a completely new taste to the palate, especially when the inside of the tumbler is gold-plated. Serving cocktails in porcelain is still uncommon, so it’s a way for us to surprise our guests and create a real highlight.

What brought you and SIEGER together?

When I was preparing for the European finals of the Diplomático World Tournament in 2017, I’d already thought up my cocktail but was still looking for a suitable vessel to serve it in. While I was browsing through different options, the Sip of Gold champagne tumbler caught my eye; it was exactly what I needed for the competition. When I reached the world finals, I got in touch with SIEGER.

Which SIEGER pieces do you have in your restaurant?

Various tumblers, like Sip of Gold and Prometheus, plus plates, bowls and cups. One real highlight is the Faces cooler, which we use as a flower vase.

What do you think makes the collections special?

That there’s always something new to discover, some new use to which they can be put. Although there’s a distinctive style that runs through all the collections, SIEGER is constantly reinventing itself. The various models of the Sip of Gold tumblers alone offer so many opportunities to be creative. They can be used pure and unadulterated, all by themselves, or you can decorate them to create a completely different look.

How did you come up with the Prometheus cocktail?

Christian [Sieger] asked me to create an easy-to-mix highball cocktail. It needed to be a genuine all-rounder that was equally appealing to both women and men. The special thing about it is the combination of flavours: light and fruity with a subtle bitterness from the tonic, and a fine note of gin. Optionally with a float that intermingles cognac with the blackberry flavours. The Prometheus isn’t overly exclusive, all the ingredients are easy to buy, and yet you’ll never have had anything like it before.

Do you like it yourself?

Of course, very much. That’s why it’s on our menu now.

How do you go about designing a new drink?

I’m a curious person by nature. I enjoy working with unusual products, and take a variety of approaches to designing my cocktails. Some express feelings, inspired by music, landscapes or special moments. Many new creations are based around a story that I want to capture. And to tell these stories, I of course need the right vessel to serve the drink in.

What do you like to drink yourself?

That depends on the season, my feelings and how the day is going. I don’t have a favourite drink but I tend to like honest spirits like tequila or mezcal that are made with a close connection to nature.

Do you ever receive feedback from your customers?

Yes, our customers are always very surprised and can tell right away that they’ve picked a truly unique drink. A lot of the time, they will then immediately share the first pictures on social media, which of course makes us doubly pleased.

About Marie Rausch

Marie Rausch began her career at the age of 16 with an apprenticeship at the Astoria Hotel in Berlin. After training in bar work, reading countless books about cocktails and completing plenty more practical tests, she was discovered by TV chef Stefan Marquard. Under his tutelage, she became deputy manager at his restaurant in Munich and chief bar manager at the Bavarian Yacht Club, where she met her husband Nicklas. Since 2012, the couple have been running the Rotkehlchen restaurant in Münster together.

Extract from her awards

  • Falstaff’s “barmaid of the year”, 2019
  • Member of the jury at the “Mixology Bar Awards”, 2019
  • Longlist-nomination at the “Mixology Bar Awards”, 2018
  • One of Campari’s six “Red Hands”, the specially picked team of bartenders for the global Red Diaries campaign, including a cameo appearance in the short film The Legend of Red Hand with actor Zoe Saldana, 2018
  • First place in the German finale of the “Diplomático World Tournament”, 2017
  • Sixth place in the worldwide finale of the “Diplomático World Tournament”, 2017
  • First place “Forgotten Cocktail Competition” by Campari, 2016
  • Nomination for the “Fizzz Award” in the category “best team”, 2013
  • Second place “Licor 43 Cocktail Competition”, 2011

Händlersuche

Coole Connection

In ihrem Bar-Restaurant steht der Prometheus auf der Karte – und das nicht ohne Grund. Marie Rausch, Fallstaffs Barfrau des Jahres 2019, hat den feinen Gin-Cocktail kreiert. Mit ihrem Mann Nicklas betreibt die preisgekrönte Getränkeköchin das Rotkehlchen in Münster.

Was gefällt Dir an den Prometheus Bechern?

Alles. Zum einen die Größe – einfach perfekt für Highballs –, zum anderen dieses fein gearbeitete Gesichtsrelief, das den Becher so wandelbar macht. Man fühlt auch direkt die Hochwertigkeit: durch das leichte Gewicht und die matte Haptik. Genau das macht Porzellan generell so interessant. Es ist elegant und hat diese besondere Beschaffenheit. Man bekommt einen vollkommen neuen Geschmack im Mund, erst recht, wenn der Becher innen vergoldet ist. Heute ist es immer noch ungewöhnlich, Cocktails in Porzellan zu servieren. Für uns eine Chance, Gäste zu überraschen und ein echtes Highlight für sie zu schaffen.

Wie haben SIEGER und Du zusammengefunden?

Als ich mich 2017 auf das Europafinale des Diplomático World Tournament vorbereitete, hatte ich meinen Cocktail bereits im Kopf, suchte aber noch nach einem passenden Gefäß. Beim Stöbern fiel mir der Champagnerbecher Sip of Gold ins Auge – genau das, was ich für den Wettbewerb brauchte. Als es zum Weltfinale ging, habe ich SIEGER dann direkt kontaktiert.

Welche Teile habt Ihr im Restaurant?

Verschiedene Becher, z. B. Sip of Gold und Prometheus, dazu Teller, Schalen und Tassen. Ein echtes Highlight ist der Kühler Faces als Blumenvase.

Was ist für Dich das Besondere an den Kollektionen?

Dass man sie immer wieder neu entdecken und einsetzen kann. Auch wenn eine durchgängige Stilistik zu erkennen ist, erfindet sich SIEGER ständig neu. Allein die unterschiedlichen Modelle der Sip of Gold Becher bieten so viele Möglichkeiten, kreativ zu sein. Sie können puristisch für sich stehen, man kann sie aber auch dekorieren und so einen ganz anderen Look schaffen.

Wie entstand der Prometheus Cocktail?

Christian [Sieger] bat mich, einen Highball-Cocktail zu kreieren, der einfach nachzumixen ist. Es sollte ein echter Allrounder sein, der Frauen und Männern gleichermaßen schmeckt. Das Besondere ist das Zusammenspiel der Aromen: fruchtig leicht, unterschwellig bitter durch das Tonic, mit der feinen Gin-Note. Und wer möchte, mit einem Floating, bei dem der Cognac im Mund mit den Brombeeren spielt. Der Prometheus ist nicht zu speziell, alle Zutaten sind einfach zu erhalten – und dennoch hat man ihn noch nirgendwo anders getrunken.

Wie schmeckt er Dir selbst?

Klar, mag ich den gern. Deswegen haben wir ihn ja jetzt auch auf unserer Karte.

Wie entwirfst Du einen neuen Drink?

Ich bin von Natur aus ein neugieriger Mensch, arbeite gern mit außergewöhnlichen Produkten und entwerfe meine Cocktails auf viele Arten. Einige davon sind Gefühle, inspiriert von Musik, Landschaften oder besonderen Momenten. Bei einer neuen Kreation geht es häufig um eine Geschichte, die man einfangen möchte. Und um diese zu erzählen, braucht es dann natürlich auch das passende Trinkgefäß.

Was trinkst Du selbst gern?

Das hängt von der Jahreszeit, meinen Gefühlen und der Tagesform ab. Ich habe kein Lieblingsgetränk, aber tendenziell mag ich ehrliche Spirituosen wie Tequila oder Mezcal, die erdverbunden hergestellt werden.

Hast Du schon Feedback von Gästen erhalten?

Ja, unsere Gäste sind immer sehr überrascht und merken sofort, dass sie einen besonderen Drink ausgesucht haben. Sehr häufig werden dann auch direkt die ersten Bilder auf den Social-Media-Kanälen geteilt – das freut uns natürlich doppelt.

Vita Marie Rausch

Marie Rausch begann ihre Karriere als 16-Jährige mit einer Ausbildung zur Hotelfachfrau im Astoria Berlin. Nach Lehrjahren im Barfach, der Lektüre vieler Cocktailbücher und noch viel mehr praktischen Tests wurde sie von TV-Koch Stefan Marquard entdeckt. Unter seiner Leitung übernahm sie in München die stellvertretende Restaurantleitung und war Barchefin im Bayerischen Yacht-Club. Dort lernte sie auch ihren heutigen Mann Nicklas kennen, mit dem sie seit 2012 das Restaurant Rotkehlchen in Münster betreibt.

Auszug ihrer Auszeichnungen

  • Falstaffs „Barfrau des Jahres“, 2019
  • Jury-Mitglied bei den „Mixology Bar Awards“, 2019
  • Longlist-Nominierung bei den „Mixology Bar Awards“, 2018
  • Teil der „Red Hands“, eine von sechs ausgewählten Bartendern der globalen Red Diaries Kampagne von Campari, inklusive Cameo-Auftritt im Kurzfilm „The Legend of Red Hand“ mit Schauspielerin Zoe Saldana, 2018
  • 1. Platz im Deutschlandfinale des „Diplomático World Tournament 2017“ (300 Teilnehmer)
  • 6. Platz im weltweiten Finale des „Diplomático World Tournament 2017“ (13 Teilnehmer), Drink „Family Diplomacy“ serviert in den Champagnerbechern Sip of Gold
  • 1. Platz „Forgotten Cocktail Competition“ by Campari, 2016
  • Nominierung „Fizzz Award" in der Kategorie „best team“, 2013
  • 2. Platz „Licor 43 Cocktail Competition“, 2011